One day at a time – Focusing on the small changes to be a better me

Last year I started a forum post half-jokingly which ended up being a regular stop most days. Which is great, but amongst other things it is predominantly a discussion about junk food and that would often result in craving the things talked about and suffice to say, I ate much more junk food than I normally would in a year. Oops!

Did I get fat? Well, not exactly, I tend to be genetically lucky in that department (sorry!) But it didn’t really help either. To look at me, I might still look slim but if you look closer that tummy is not flat! I tend to have a bit of a food baby growing!

Did I get sick? Ahhh no, but honestly I’m probably en route to getting Diabetes, if I don’t secretly already have it.

So it doesn’t seem like too big a deal right?! Well, no, that’s not true either. If I continue to eat that much junk food, eventually I will lose more than my flat tummy and it will start to take a toll on my health. Let’s not wait for that to happen!!!

It can be tough to make big changes all at once but I think the important thing is to want to make changes. So focus on small changes and small wins, cause those will be longer lasting in the long run.

This week I have added a new healthy breakfast option: Toast with cottage cheese, marmalade, chopped walnuts and cinnamon. I don’t normally even eat cottage cheese or marmalade but this is actually delicious, and feels more like a treat to eat than a healthier breakfast option. Highly recommended.

I have also been trying to drink more water, even if it is only with meals, it’s still a start. I don’t particularly like water by itself so I have lemon juice that I add to give it a bit of flavour.

I’m not particularly athletic, not that I don’t necessarily enjoy it, I just find it hard to be motivated to do it in the first place. What I do a lot of, however, is walk. I don’t drive, so it’s kind of a lifestyle choice, which makes it easier to do regularly. It’s still easy to just sit home on a day off and not go anywhere, so with that in mind I’m going to try go for a walk every day regardless of whether I have somewhere I need to go or not.

About labellavitall

On a journey to improve myself a little bit every day
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

